Film award record holders: conquerors of Cannes, Berlin and Venice

History knows only three directors who collected the highest awards at three prestigious film festivals in Europe: Cannes, Berlin and Venice.

The first person to score such a unique festival hat-trick was the Frenchman Henri-Georges Clouzot. In 1953, his film “The Wages of Fear” received top awards in Cannes and Berlin. This is the only case in history when one film won two prestigious film forums at once. Well, a little earlier, in 1949, his film “Manon” was recognized as the best in Venice.

He managed to collect all three of these authoritative awards so quickly because at that time – the end of the 40s, the beginning of the 50s – all these film forums had not yet received the conditional status of “ruler of the thoughts of all film fans in the world,” in which they have undoubtedly established themselves today. Subsequently, these film forums began to compete with each other. Therefore, it is simply impossible today for one film to conquer two such powerful film festivals at once.

In the 60s, Michelangelo Antonioni managed to repeat Clouzot’s record in just seven years. In those years, Italian cinema was on the rise and many considered it the locomotive of the world film process. Antonioni’s victories were partly the embodiment of this trend.

In 1961 he received the Golden Bear for “Night”
In 1964 – “Golden Lion” for “Red Desert”
In 1967 – Palme d’Or for “Photo Enlargement”

American cinema icon Robert Altman collected all three of these awards over the course of 23 long years.

In 1970, he received the Golden Bough for “Military Field Hospital M.E.Sh.”
In 1976 – “Golden Bear” for “Buffalo Bill and the Indians”
In 1993 – “Golden Lion” for “Short Editing”

The three aforementioned directors received awards specifically for their films. However, these film festivals also present honorary awards, which are given not for a specific film, but for “contribution to cinema” and “creative achievements.” If we take into account such prizes, then the list of directors who have in their collection all three main awards from the three most respected film festivals in Europe stretches to twelve.

Ingmar Bergman won with Strawberry Field at the Berlinale in 1958. In 1971, he received the Golden Lion for his contribution to cinema, and in 1997 he was awarded the super-version of the Palme d’Or at the 50th anniversary Cannes Film Festival.

Roman Polanski received the Golden Bear in 1966 for his film Dead End. In 1993 he received the Golden Lion for his contribution to cinema, and in 2002 he won at Cannes with his “The Pianist”.

Billy Wilder was awarded the top prize at the Cannes Film Festival in 1946 for his film The Lost Weekend. Well, he received the Golden Lion and the Bear for personal creative achievements in 1972 and 1993, respectively.

Paolo and Vittorio Taviani received the main awards at Cannes (The Master Father, 1977) and the Berlinale (Caesar Must Die, 2012). And they received the Golden Lion in 1986 “for high achievements in cinema.”

Francesco Rosi was awarded the highest award at the Venice Film Festival in 1963 for the film Hands Over the City. In 1972 he received the Palme d’Or for The Mattei Affair. But he never managed to conquer the Berlinale with his films. He received the Golden Bear in 2008 “for his contribution to cinema.”

Andrzej Wajda began collecting this set of awards in 1981, when he was awarded the Palme d’Or for Man of Iron. Well, he received the “bear” and “lion” for his contribution to cinema in 1998 and 2006, respectively.

In 2015, Wim Wenders was added to this list of directors, who was awarded the Golden Bear for personal creative achievements in cinema. And he received the main prizes at Cannes and Venice precisely for his films. In 1982, his “State of Things” was awarded the “Golden Lion”, and in 1984 his “Paris, Texas” was recognized as the best on the Cote d’Azur.

Jean-Luc Godard was awarded a special Palme d’Or only in 2018 for his film The Book of Images. This was a special reward. In 1965, he was awarded the Berlinale Golden Bear for his film Alphaville. The director also has two Venice Golden Lions, awarded for the film “The Name of Carmen” (1983) and for his contribution to cinema (1982).

ЧИТАТИ ЩЕ

The best films about the Olympics

Sport has been inspiring humanity to great achievements for thousands of years. He pushes people to find new strength in themselves and overcome themselves. The...

Рекордсмены кинопремий: покорители Канн, Берлина и Венеции

канны берлин венеция
История знает лишь трех режиссеров, которые собрали самые высокие награды сразу трех престижных кинофестивалей Европы: Канн, Берлина и Венеции.
Первым, кому удалось забить такой своеобразный фестивальный хет-трик, стал француз Анри-Жорж Клузо. В 1953 году его картина «Плата за страх» получила высшие награды в Каннах и Берлине. Это единственный в истории случай, когда один фильм победил сразу в двух престижнейших кинофорумах. Ну, а чуть раньше, в 1949-м, его фильм «Манон» был признан лучшим в Венеции.
Списки  Рекордсмены кинопремий: покорители Канн, Берлина и Венеции
Столь стремительно собрать все эти три авторитетные награды ему удалось потому, что в то время — конец 40-х, начало 50-х — все эти кинофорумы еще не получили условного статуса «властитель дум всех киноманов мира», в котором сегодня они бесспорно утвердились. Впоследствии эти кинофорумы стали конкурировать между собой. Поэтому случай, когда бы один фильм покорил сразу два столь мощных кинофестиваля, сегодня просто невозможен.
Списки  Рекордсмены кинопремий: покорители Канн, Берлина и ВенецииВ 60-х годах Микеланджело Антониони удалось в течение всего лишь семи лет повторить рекорд Клузо. В те годы итальянское кино было на подъеме и многие считали его локомотивом мирового кинопроцесса. Олицетворением этой тенденции отчасти и стали победы Антониони.
  • В 1961 году он получил «Золотого медведя» за «Ночь»
  • В 1964-м — «Золотого льва» за «Красную пустыню»
  • В 1967-м — «Золотую пальмовую ветвь» за «Фотоувеличение»
Списки  Рекордсмены кинопремий: покорители Канн, Берлина и ВенецииИкона американского кинематографа Роберт Олтмен собирал все эти три награды в течение долгих 23-х лет.
  • В 1970-м он получил «Золотую ветвь» за «Военно-полевой госпиталь М.Э.Ш.»
  • В 1976-м — «Золотого медведя» за «Баффало Билла и индейцев»
  • В 1993-м — «Золотого льва» за «Короткий монтаж»
Трое вышеупомянутых режиссеров получили награды именно за фильмы. Однако на этих кинофестивалях вручают и почетные награды, которые даются не за конкретный фильм, а за «вклад в кинематограф» и «творческие достижения». Если принимать во внимание и такие призы, то список режиссеров, имеющих в своей коллекции все три главные награды трех самых авторитетных кинофестивалей Европы, растягивается до двенадцати.

Ингмар Бергман победил с лентой «Земляничная поляна» на Берлинале в 1958 году. В 1971 году он получил «Золотого льва» за вклад в кинематограф, а в 1997-м был награжден супер-версией «Золотой пальмовой ветви» на юбилейном 50-м Каннском кинофестивале.

Роман Полански в 1966-м году получил «Золотого медведя» за картину «Тупик». В 1993-м обзавелся «Золотым львом» за вклад в киноискусство, а в 2002-м победил в Каннах со своим «Пианистом».

Билли Уайлдера наградили главным призом Каннского кинофестиваля в 1946 году за фильм «Потерянный уик-энд». Ну, а Золотого льва и медведя он получил за личные творческие достижения соответственно в 1972 и 1993-м годах.

Паоло и Витторио Тавиани получали главные награды Канн («Отец-хазяин», 1977) и Берлинале («Цезарь должен умереть», 2012). А «Золотой лев» им достался в 1986 году «за высокие достижения в кинематографе».

Франческо Рози был награжден высшей наградой Венецианского кинофестиваля в 1963 году за фильм «Руки над городом». В 1972-м он получил «Золотую пальму» за «Дело Маттеи». А вот покорить своими фильмами Берлинале ему так и не удалось. «Золотого медведя» он получил в 2008 году «за вклад в кинематограф».

Анджей Вайда начал собирать этот комплект наград в 1981-м году, когда ему была присуждена «Золотая пальма» за «Человека из железа». Ну, а «медведя» и «льва» он получил за вклад в киноискусство в 1998-м и 2006-м годах соответственно.

В 2015 году в этот список режиссеров пополнил Вим Вендерс, который отмечен «Золотым медведем» за персональные творческие достижения в кино. А главные призы Канн и Венеции он получил именно за фильмы. В 1982 его «Положение вещей» отметили «Золотым львом», а в 1984 его «Париж, Техас» признали лучшим на Лазурном берегу.

Жан-Люк Годар удостоился специальной «Золотой пальмовой ветви» лишь в 2018 году за свою картину «Книга образов». Это была специальная награда. В 1965 году он удостоился «Золотого медведя» Берлинале за картину «Алфавиль». Также у режиссёра есть два «Золотых льва» Венеции, врученных за фильм «Имя Кармен» (1983) и за вклад в киноискусство (1982).

 

4 комментария

  • I’ve been absent for some time, but now I remember why I used to love this blog. Thank you, I will try and check back more frequently. How frequently you update your web site?

  • This web site is really a walk-through for all of the info you wanted about this and didn’t know who to ask. Glimpse here, and you’ll definitely discover it.

  • Hi there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my twitter group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Many thanks

Comments are closed.