Maryna Borodina: The actors’ main job is to create their signature acting style

Maryna Borodina

During her successful career a young Ukrainian actress Maryna Borodina, who is now attending the prestigious New York Film Academy, has worked as a television host, made appearances in a number of TV productions and even done stage work. It seems, though, that now she’s ready to take her career to a whole new level.

In an exclusive interview to Cut Insight, Maryna is opening up about her own success story and what it’s like to study acting in Hollywood. Maryna also explains why every actress, in her opinion, must find her signature acting style.

You have previously appeared in a number of successful Ukrainian films. And now you’re studying acting in Los Angeles. Does it mean that in future you will mostly be looking for roles in Hollywood productions?

All I know is that I’m eager to take on interesting projects. I’ll be happy if I am offered parts in Ukrainian feature films or co-productions. Think of The Nest of the Turtledove, The Line, Ether, Easy, etc. All these films are co-productions between Ukraine and countries like Italy, Poland, France, etc.

You know the Ukrainian world of cinema from inside out. And now you’re tapping into the world of American cinema. These two worlds are (pardon the pun) two worlds apart. What’s the first thing that jumps out at you once you arrive in Hollywood?

Ukrainian cinema is only now getting back on its feet. In Hollywood, on the other hand, every detail has been meticulously thought through. Once a week I come to Universal Studios for practical training, where my future peer filmmakers and I make short films. All the necessary cinema equipment is there for us to use. By the way, some festivals gladly screen films made by students. And since the beginning of my studies in September, I have already appeared in two short films. So life is busier here so to speak.

Статьи  Maryna Borodina: The actors’ main job is to create their signature acting style

With regards to Stanislavsky’s system, it is much respected among American and Ukrainian actors and often viewed as a benchmark, but here in Hollywood they use techniques, developed by the greats of American cinema.

Apart from acting, you also get to learn the basics of film appreciation, scriptwriting, producing, cinematography and editing. All students participate in making a single film, so every one of us gets a chance to learn all these skills.

Classes, film shoots… You are such a busy bee!

Yeah, the schedule is so tight that I often have to turn down roles in shorts, whose scripts I like. Whatever I do I care about doing my job well. So, if I don’t have enough time to prepare for the role or work on the film, I simply say “no”.

Why did you decide to become an actress?

When I was a child, I wanted to become a television host. But when it was time to go to university I decided to study international economics. At the time, those who wanted a successful career usually chose either international economics or law. But thanks to my good fortune, in my first year at Donetsk National University I heard about new local channel casting TV hosts. More than one hundred people were auditioned that time, best of us were trained during 3 months and I was the one who opened the first direct online translation of the channel and then hosting the prime time evening show. I was just 17 years old.

Then the channel relocated its offices to Kyiv. At that time, an American actor Barry Primus and producer Larry Kostroff were presenting a training course here in Kyiv. I went, of course, and they convinced me to try my hand in acting. So, I sent out my photos and CV to various film studios. And then I started to receive feedback and eventually got my first role.

Статьи  Maryna Borodina: The actors’ main job is to create their signature acting style

At what point in your life did you realize you wanted to pursue education in Los Angeles?

Well, I’ve long dreamt of studying filmmaking abroad. And when I learnt that the New York Film Academy would be running auditions in Kyiv, I decided to act fast. The audition took place in December 2016. I had to prepare two contrasting monologues and compose a couple of essays. I did my job well and won a grant to study in Los Angeles.

You cite Jennifer Lawrence, Charlize Theron, Kate Winslet and Scarlett Johansson as your major influences. You also say that each of these actresses has a unique quality about their acting, which underpins all their work and also strikes a chord in you. Could you please elaborate on this idea?

Every actress must have a unique acting style. We live at the time when character actors get the best parts; when actors have a number of characters “attached” to them. Some actors are better suited to roles in comedy films, others – in dramas or thrillers.

Sometimes, even at a stage of script development, it’s often clear that, let’s say, Kate Winslet is the best choice for the part simply because she has this certain quality about her acting.

Статьи  Maryna Borodina: The actors’ main job is to create their signature acting style

And what acting style do you hope do develop?

Well, I’d like to work in various genres. Though, I personally prefer portraying courageous, self-reliant women of many skills. You see, I’m attracted to individuals with a pivot, because I myself am like that. But to achieve this, you must work hard and be willing to grow and change.

I am a fan of superhero flicks or films about people with supernatural powers, whose female characters are bright, intelligent, attractive and powerful. That’s what I’m hoping to achieve.

How do you approach a new character? What does it take to tap into it?

I like to experiment with various techniques. So, it all depends on what my character has to do, also on the film genre and my personal experience. The director’s vision is also very important.

I’m also grateful to all my teachers for entrusting me to play some really challenging characters in the past.

For instance, in an experimental play Cinderellas-Jailbirds by Maksim Mikhaylichenko I portrayed a deputy governor of a high-security prison for adolescent girls. Until then, I couldn’t even imagine I’d be able to play such a complicated, power-hungry and wild woman. And I was surprised that I could be quite bossy.

Статьи  Maryna Borodina: The actors’ main job is to create their signature acting style

In any case, whenever you’re challenged to play a particularly nasty character (a rapist or a killer) your job is not to judge them but try to understand why they did what they did.

Because of my participation in that particular production, I was soon offered a part in Children of Victory (premiered earlier this year). In this documentary movie I portrayed an overseer at Auschwitz concentration camp. And in order to understand why she displayed such inhuman cruelty towards the inmates, I had to dissect how much of a patriot she was, how devoted she was to Hitler’s cause.

Not only did those two characters help me expand my actor diapason, but also made me aware that I’m still in the process of exploring my own emotional palette, so this is all very exciting!

What’s your way of dealing with failed auditions?

If you want something, let it go. I’ve made it my personal rule. So, if you do an audition just for the fun of it and not for other reasons (like landing a coveted role), then you’d have more chances to succeed.

La La Land, one of the most talked-about movies of the past few years, is (among other things) about a girl who pursues a career in Hollywood and after a number of failed auditions finally fulfills her dream. La La Land offers viewers a truthful depiction of the film industry, while also exploring its romantic side. So, is L.A. really a place where miracles happen and dreams come true?

Los Angeles is home to people of various backgrounds. On one hand, everyone here is really friendly, passers-by smile at you, and it certainly lifts your mood. It’s a place of endless opportunities, a place filled with an atmosphere of creativity. For example, drinking coffee in a café between NYFA campus and Warner Bros.Studio, you may find yourself sitting next to a famous director or producer, someone really important. But you’d never know to look at them, because they dress and behave very simply. And yet, an encounter like this could change your life forever! On the other hand, competition among actors is so fierce, that they would go to great lengths to secure a role. However, even with this in mind, winning can be a fun and joyous experience.

Статьи  Maryna Borodina: The actors’ main job is to create their signature acting style

Reputation is another important factor to consider when moving forward in a filmmaking career. Even though Hollywood is the largest film industry in the world, it’s a place where everyone seems to know each other. So it’s important to start building a solid reputation from day one.

Also, it’s hard to imagine a Hollywood actors turning up on the set without knowing their lines, as it might hinder the filming process, resulting in a loss of time and money. And sometimes, one small mistake is enough to have you replaced with someone else. As I’ve said before, the competition here is huge.

Over the past month, there has been massive media coverage of the sex scandals involving Harvey Weinstein, Kevin Spacey, Steven Seagal, Charlie Sheen, Dustin Hoffman and other Hollywood heavyweights, who were accused of sexual harassment and assault. What are your views on this subject?

Unfortunately, such cases are not uncommon in film industries around the world. And if you happen to be working with a person like this, then it’s time to alter your course. Los Angeles is home to many studios and independent filmmakers, who are always on the lookout for new talent – actors and actresses who are willing to work hard. So to me, creative expression and self-esteem is more important than engaging in reckless behavior.

What style of clothes do you prefer?

I don’t like baggy or flamboyant clothes. I prefer wearing stylish, more subdued outfits, which flatter my figure. I regularly do sports and yoga, and also practice meditation. Yoga in particular helps me feel more grounded when dealing with unforeseen obstacles. Some yoga poses are quite challenging but they help me increase my self-awareness and remain calm and secure. With each passing session I feel like practicing yoga has changed my consciousness and restored a healthy energy flow in my body.

Tell us about your other influences and where you draw your inspiration from?

I’m greatly inspired by strong-willed, self-made people. I draw inspiration from women who know how to balance their time and energy between career and family. I’m also driven by a desire to constantly reinvent myself. Whenever I am faced with a challenge, I always take it an opportunity for personal growth.
Статьи  Maryna Borodina: The actors’ main job is to create their signature acting style

Maryna Borodina

Ukrainian actress who has appeared on film, television and stage. Born in Makiivka (Donetsk Oblast) in 1985, Borodina made her acting debut in 2006. Since then she has appeared in a dozen of films and TV productions. She has recently starred in The City of Lovers (directed by Anton Goyda) and East-West (directed by Denis Eleonskiy) set to premiere in early 2018.

In 2006, she attended the Hollywood School in Ukraine, where she participated in a master class in acting taught by Barry Primus. In 2015, she studied theatre at “Black Square” – an Improvisation Studio School (a class taught by Mikhail Kostrov). In 2016, she attended an acting course at Ukrainian Film School, taught by Maksim Mikhaylichenko. In 2017 she became the heroine of the art project “Brexit» by artist Igor Galan.

Maryna Borodina is currently living in Los Angeles and studying acting at the New York Film Academy.

Марина Бородина: Главное для актрисы – найти свой почерк

Maryna Borodina

Одна из наиболее амбициозных молодых украинских актрис Марина Бородина сейчас проходит обучение в престижной New York Film Academy. За спиной у неё работа в качестве телеведущей, целый букет ролей в телефильмах, а также театральные работы. Вскоре творчество актрисы выйдет на новый уровень.

В эксклюзивном интервью Cut Insight, Бородина поделилась рецептами собственного успеха, рассказала о специфике учёбы в Голливуде, а также о том, что у каждой настоящей актрисы должен быть свой почерк.

Раньше вы снимались в Украине. Сейчас получаете кинообразование в Лос-Анджелесе. А в дальнейшем вы планируете сниматься, прежде всего, в Голливуде?

Я намерена работать в качественных и интересных проектах. Буду счастлива, если это произойдет в фильмах украинского производства или копродукционных проектах, в которых будет участвовать Украина. Например, как «Гнездо горлицы», «Межа», «Эфир», «Изи» и т.д. Они снимались совместно с Италией, Польшей, Францией и другими государствами.

Вы знаете украинский киномир изнутри. А теперь вникаете в американскую киноиндустрию. Разница между ними, конечно, колоссальная. Но что бросается в глаза в первую очередь, когда попадаешь в Голливуд?

Украинское кино только-только становится на ноги. А в Голливуде отлажен буквально каждый нюанс кинопроизводства. Раз в неделю я прохожу практику на студии Universal. Там, вместе с другими студентами-кинематографистами, мы снимаем короткометражные фильмы. При этом предоставляется вся необходимая для этого аппаратура. Некоторые из этих картин попадают на фестивали. За первые два месяца обучения я снялась уже в нескольких таких коротких метрах. То есть работа здесь протекает намного интенсивнее.

Статьи  Марина Бородина: Главное для актрисы – найти свой почерк

И в Украине, и в США с большим уважением относятся к системе Константина Станиславского. Это словно Ветхий завет. Но применяют техники американских гуру.

В ходе обучения актёрскому мастерству в Голливуде параллельно осваиваются базовые умения киноведа, сценариста, режиссера, продюсера, оператора и монтажёра. Мы со студентами вместе снимаем фильм и в ходе этого пробуем себя на каждой из этих позиций.

Учёба и съёмки, наверное, не оставляют ни минуты свободного времени.

Да. Учебный график настолько плотный, что приходится даже отказываться от предложений по съёмкам в короткометражных фильмах, сценарий которых мне нравится. Всё, за что я берусь, я стараюсь делать хорошо. Поэтому если нет достаточно времени на подготовку и работу над фильмом, то я просто отказываюсь. Ведь качество – превыше всего.

Почему вы решили выбрать профессию актрисы?

С детства я мечтала стать телеведущей. Но когда настало время поступать в институт, то самым популярным направлением была юриспруденция и экономика. Тогда я выбрала последнюю, потому что именно это направление в Украине было перспективным. Но судьба преподнесла мне приятный сюрприз: будучи на первом курсе факультета международной экономики ДонНУ, я узнала о кастинге ведущих на один из местных телеканалов. Отбор длился около трёх месяцев. На это место претендовало больше ста человек. В результате меня утвердили, и я стала хозяйкой вечерних прямых эфиров. Мне тогда было всего 17 лет.

Затем этот телеканал перебрался в Киев. Как раз в то время в столицу приезжали с мастер-классами голливудский актёр Барри Праймус и продюсер Ларри Кострофф. Эти люди убедили меня в том, что нужно пробовать себя в качестве актрисы, тогда я разослала свои фото и резюме в киностудии. После этого меня стали приглашать в кино.

Статьи  Марина Бородина: Главное для актрисы – найти свой почерк

А как появилось решение отправиться на учёбу в Лос-Анджелес?

Я давно мечтала об образовании в сфере кино заграницей. Когда узнала, что представители New York Film Academy приезжают в Украину, сразу приняла решение действовать. Отбор проходил в декабре 2016 года. Нужно было прочитать драматический и комедийный монологи и написать несколько эссе. Я хорошо справилась с этой задачей, так что мне дали грант и предложили пройти обучение в Лос Анджелесе.

Своими alter ego вы называете Дженнифер Лоуренс, Шарлиз Терон, Кейт Уинслет и Скарлетт Йоханссон. При этом вы уточняете: «У каждой из них свой «почерк», который просматривается сквозь все их работы, и каждая вызывает отклик в моей душе». Что вы имеете в виду под «уникальным почерком»?

У каждой актрисы должен быть свой уникальный стиль. Сейчас эпоха характерных актёров, когда за каждым закрепляется какой-то определённый набор типажей. Одни играют, например, только комедийные роли. А других выбирают исключительно для драм и триллеров.

Иногда даже на этапе сценария сразу видно, что роль какого-то отдельного персонажа прекрасно бы выглядела в исполнении, например, Кейт Уинслейт. Потому что она обладает своим удивительным почерком.

Статьи  Марина Бородина: Главное для актрисы – найти свой почерк

А какой «почерк» вы отрабатываете в своём творчестве?

Мне бы хотелось поработать в самых разных жанрах. Но предпочтение я отдаю всё же героиням, которые очень сильны духом. Которые отличаются самодостаточностью и наличием множества навыков и способностей. Мне очень импонируют люди с крепким внутренним стержнем. Потому что я сама такая. Это требует постоянной интенсивной работы над собой.

Очень люблю фильмы о супергероях и людях со сверхспособностями. Героини, которые одновременно и умны, и интеллектуальны, и соблазнительны, и сильны. Вот такой почерк я отрабатываю.

Как вы работаете над новыми персонажами? Как вживаетесь в роли?

Мне нравится экспериментировать с разными техниками, особенно в последнее время. Все зависит от задачи, которая поставлена перед моим персонажем. От жанра произведения и от наличия определенного личного опыта. Большое значение также имеет видение режиссера.

Я благодарна моим педагогам за то, что верили в меня и бросали мне вызовы.

Например, в спектакле-лаборатории «Золушки-зечки», поставленном Максимом Михайличенко, я играла замдиректора колонии строгого режима для девочек-подростков. До этого я даже представить не могла, что смогу сыграть такого непростого властного и сумасбродного персонажа. И как оказалось – во мне живёт маленький генерал.

Статьи  Марина Бородина: Главное для актрисы – найти свой почерк

В любом случае, даже если приходится играть крайне негативного персонажа (насильника или убийцу), задача актера – его оправдать.

Благодаря именно этой роли меня со временем пригласили в фильм «Дети победы», который вышел в этом году. Там я сыграла надзирательницу концлагеря «Аушвиц». И чтобы понять нечеловеческие поступки этой героини, я проанализировала, насколько сильным в ней был дух патриотизма, как она была преданна идеологии Гитлера.

Эти две роли не только помогли мне расширить свой актерский диапазон, но и дали понять, что я еще в процессе познания своей эмоциональной палитры. А это безумно интересно!

Как вы справляетесь с отказами на кастингах?

В таком случае очень помогает принцип: хочешь обладать – отпусти. Если, идя на кастинг, не возлагать особых надежд на получение роли, а наслаждаться процессом игры, то чаще всего, успех гарантирован.

Один из самых обсуждаемых фильмов этого года «Ла-Ла Ленд» рассказывает, среди прочего, о девушке, которая ходила по кастингам и пыталась построить актёрскую карьеру в Голливуде. Эта картина очень эффектно и романтично показывает киноиндустрию Лос-Анджелеса. Действительно ли это настолько сказочный город, в котором возможно чудо?

В Лос-Анджелесе живут и работают очень разные люди. С одной стороны все улыбаются. И это настраивает на позитив. В воздухе витает дух творчества, неограниченных возможностей… Просто сидя в кафе, за соседним столиком может оказаться какой-нибудь режиссёр или продюсер. При этом они будут очень просто одеты. И по внешности не определишь, что это какая-то важная личность, знакомство с кем может существенно повлиять на судьбу. А с другой стороны, есть серьезная конкуренция, когда в борьбе за роль люди готовы практически на все. Но победить в таком случае становится еще интереснее и приятнее!

Статьи  Марина Бородина: Главное для актрисы – найти свой почерк

Очень большое значение для каждого кинематографиста имеет репутация. Несмотря на то, что киноиндустрия здесь – крупнейшая в мире, все друг друга знают. Так что мнение о себе необходимо формировать с первых дней учёбы.

Даже представить сложно, что здесь кто-то из актёров может прийти на съёмочную площадку, не выучив слова. Потому что в таком случае, этот человек подводит всю команду, забирая их время и деньги. А стоит только допустить один промах, как найдется замена, и работу получит кто-нибудь другой, ведь, как я уже говорила, конкуренция – колоссальная.

В течение последнего месяца весь мир обсуждает каскад скандалов, которые прогремели в связи с обвинениями в сексуальных домогательствах продюсера Харви Вайнштейна, актёров Кевина Спейси, Стивена Сигала, Чарли Шина, Дастина Хоффмана и других больших звёзд. Как вы относитесь к поступкам этих кинематографистов?

Я думаю, что подобные ситуации могут произойти в киноиндустрии любой страны. И если вдруг случилось столкнуться с подобным человеком на своём творческом пути, то, мне кажется, стоит сменить маршрут. Что хорошо в Лос Анджелесе – так это количество кинокомпаний и независимых режиссеров и продюсеров, которые в постоянном поиске талантливых и трудолюбивых артистов! Как по мне творческая реализация и чувство собственного достоинства гораздо важнее подобных авантюр.

Какой стиль одежды вы предпочитаете?

Я не люблю мешковатых и кричащих фасонов. Предпочитаю стильную и сдержанную одежду, которая подчёркивает фигуру. Я регулярно занимаюсь спортом и йогой, а также медитирую. В частности, йога помогает мне чувствовать себя комфортно в некомфортных ситуациях. Я люблю упражнения, которые непросты и вырабатывают во мне осознанность и терпение. От занятия – к занятию, я поняла, что эта практика изменила моё сознание и помогла гармонизировать жизненную энергию.

Что вас вдохновляет?

Сильные успешные люди. Беру пример с женщин, которым удаётся гармонично распределить энергию на все сферы жизни. Также меня вдохновляет желание стать лучшей версией себя. Когда я сталкиваюсь с трудностями и пытаюсь найти выход из сложившейся ситуации.

Статьи  Марина Бородина: Главное для актрисы – найти свой почерк

Марина Бородина

Родилась в Макеевке (Донецкая обл.) в 1985 году. Снимается в кино с 2006 года. С тех пор появилась приблизительно в десяти фильмах и сериалах, последние из которых имеют рабочие названия «Город влюбленных» (реж. Антон Гойда) и «Восток – Запад» (реж. Денис Елеонский). Их премьера запланирована на начало 2018 года.

В 2006 году окончила Школу Голливуда на Украине (курс Барри Праймуса по актёрскому мастерству). В 2015 году училась в театральной студии «Чёрный квадрат», курс Михаила Кострова. В 2016 году окончила актёрский курс в Ukrainian Film School, мастерская Максима Михайличенко. В 2017 году стала героиней арт-проекта «Брексит» художника Игоря Галана.

В настоящее время живет в Лос Анджелесе и учится в New York Film Academy.