10 films that influenced the life and career of Taras Tkachenko

Taras Tkachenko’s drama film The Nest of the Turtledove is still showing in cinemas across Ukraine. At this year’s Odessa International Film Festival it was awarded the Golden Duke for the Best Ukrainian feature film. In 2011 a similar award was given to Tkachenko’s short love story Flea Waltz (Dog Waltz). Last year’s mystery TV series Nikonov and Co., co-directed by Tkachenko, was also very popular with the audience. And in October he was appointed the head of the Ukrainian Association of Cinematographers.

Listing ten films, which had a strong influence on his life and career, Tkachenko noted that personally for him the main emphasis in any film should be on its metaphorical and philosophical aspects, as well as humanity.

Commissar (1967) by Aleksandr Askoldov

What’s impressive about this film is how its creators, in spite of being under ideological pressure, managed to tell a humane and candid story. From a psychological point view this film is quite edgy. It is incredibly accurate in portraying the inner strength of the protagonist’s character. Besides, it’s simply an ABC guide on composition, on working with sound and actors.

 

Stone Cross (1968) by Leonid Osyka

Ukrainian cinema is metaphorical in its nature. And this film is an incredible demonstration of that. I got very emotional when watching the farewell scene, and to this day I haven’t figured out entirely how it was shot. It’s a gold standard of scene resolution. You get an absolute sense that instead of watching a staged episode on screen, you are living through an episode of real life, which flows on its own accord. Besides, the story is told in a novel-like manner. I’m also really curious about an approach that combines several different storylines in one film.

 

Babel (2006) by Alejandro González Iñárritu

This film uses the same principle of incorporating several short novels into one story, with each of them being a whole metaphor. Three stories in this film are linked. Not through a character or a theme, though. The main uniting element of the film is a philosophical idea. This principle of building a story in a film really impressed me at the time. For me personally, this film is the most significant one in Iñárritu’s filmmaking career.

 

Once Upon a Time in America (1983) by Sergio Leone

This film is also an ABC guide on how to work with extras, supporting cast and actors, how to think up the story and scenes, and what the fusion of psychology and metaphorical content is. Speaking of working with actors, it was this film I had been learning from. The absolute feeling you get while watching this movie is that actors are not just playing but literally living their parts.

I first watched this film by accident. I simply turned on the TV, and the film was on. And I couldn’t keep my eyes away from the screen right until the closing credits.

 

Andrei Rublev (1966) by Andrei Tarkovsky

Firstly, I was curious how two strong artistic personalities like Tarkovsky and Konchalovsky managed to make such a complicated film together. I was curious to learn about their joint creative process and what it was like. Secondly, this film is a wonderful example of life of an artist and how to live in accordance with your calling. I re-watch Andrei Rublev from time to time, and every time I do that, I check whether I am in touch with my own creative and personal self.

I’ve seen many Tarkovky’s films and love his works very much, yet I can’t say I was learning from his art.

 

One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest (1975) by Miloš Forman

I teach at Kyiv National Karpenko-Kary Theatre, Cinema and Television University, and I simply badgered my students with this film. I first watched it in the 1990s, when the freedom issue was only beginning to ripple through the oppressive Soviet system. I was at school at the time and saw that film on TV late at night. But one particular episode sunk deep into my memory. It was when Randle McMurphy, known as Chief, escapes through a smashed window. During that scene I literally wanted to scream.

This film simply “tore me into pieces”. At that point I experienced the sharpest sense of inner freedom. In other words this film made me the person I am today. It deeply affected my inner self.

 

Hungry for Oxygen (1991) by Andrei Donchik

At the time this film “sobered me up” and showed that cinema could be different. In the early 1990s the film was perceived as anti-cinema. Hungry for Oxygen is built upon disharmonic, battered, butchered images. Some episodes of the film I remember to the tiniest detail.

It’s like with music, for instance, where euphony and cacophony are equally essential. And if all the movies I’ve mentioned till now are euphonic, Donchik’s Hungry for Oxygen is cacophonic. It’s the finest example of how to break harmony.

 

The Shining (1980) by Stanley Kubrick

This kind of art hits the viewer’s heart by evading their mind. This film explains what emotions are, and does it in a very comprehensive way. It’s not so much a horror film as a film of substance. It taught me how put and keep the viewer in a certain emotional state right until the closing credits.

 

Harem (1985) by Arthur Joffé

It’s an unusual film that resembles a dream. When watching it, one gets an impression they are falling out of reality. It lacks a harmonious story structure in the conventional sense of the word. This film is like a fragment of one’s visionary dream.

The lesson this film taught me is that we don’t necessarily have to narrate a story cohesively. Quite to the contrary – we need to tear a narration into separate parts and then collect the story from unfinished pieces, which work as a broken line. In this way a film creator becomes more of a provocateur than a narrator.

 

The Killing Fields (1984) by Roland Joffé

Needless to say, art must talk about universal issues. However, its language must be modern. Moreover, art and the viewer must exist in the same reality, without breaking off into some imaginary world. This very film taught me about modern art and what it is, how essential in cinema a hot-button theme is, and how important it is not to make it speculative.

It’s this balance of the modern and non-speculative that I’m trying to achieve when making my own films.

10 фильмов, повлиявших на жизнь и творчество Тараса Ткаченко

Сейчас продолжается прокат мелодрамы «Гнездо горлицы», которая была признана лучшим украинским фильмом на Одесском кинофестивале этого года. Такую же награду Тарас Ткаченко получил и в 2011 году за свою короткометражную лирическую ленту «Собачий вальс». В прошлом году широкой популярностью пользовался детективный сериал «Никонов и Ко», одним из режиссеров которого был Ткаченко. А в октябре он был избран председателем Союза кинематографистов Украины.

Перечисляя собственную десятку фильмов, занимающих особое место в его жизни и творчестве, он отметил, что главный акцент в любом фильме он делает именно на метафоричность, философичность и человечность.

«Комиссар» (1967) Александр Аскольдов

В этой картине поражает то, как, будучи в тисках идеологии, авторы ленты смогли рассказать человечную и искреннюю историю. Психологически – она очень острая. В ней очень точно показывается стержень человека. Кроме того, она является просто букварем по композиции, работе со звуком и артистами.

 

«Каменный крест» (1968) Леонид Осыка

Украинское кино по своей природе является метафорическим. И это прекрасно выражено в данной ленте. Я схожу с ума от сцены прощания, и до сих пор не могу полностью разобраться, как она снята. Это просто эталон решения сцены. Здесь есть абсолютное ощущение, что на экране не постановочный эпизод, а настоящий фрагмент жизни, которая течет сама собой. Кроме того сюжет картины построен новеллистично. Меня очень интересует этот принцип объединения нескольких историй в одном фильме.

 

«Вавилон» (2006) Алехандро Гонсалес Иньярриту

Он также создан по принципу объединения новелл, каждая из которых является цельной метафорой. Три сюжета в данной картине объединены не конкретным общим героем или темой. Главный объединяющий элемент в картине – философема. Такой принцип построения сюжета в кино в свое время меня очень впечатлил. Для меня лично во всем творчестве Иньярриту наиболее важным является именно этот фильм.

 

«Однажды в Америке» (1983) Серджио Леоне

Это также фильм-букварь по работе с массовкой, вторым планом и артистами; как продумывать историю и сцены; что такое сплав психологии с метафорическим смыслом. Именно на этой картине я проходил школу по работе с актерами. Здесь чувствуется, что они не играют. Ведь тут есть абсолютное ощущение, что все они буквально проживают свои роли.

Впервые я увидел эту картину случайно – просто как-то включил телевизор и уже не смог выключить, пока не пошли титры.

 

«Андрей Рублёв» (1966) Андрей Тарковский

Во-первых, мне было интересно, как два таких сильных художника, как Тарковский и Кончаловский вместе смогли сделать такую сложную картину. Как вообще проходил их совместный творческий процесс. Во-вторых, в этой ленте прекрасно показывается, что такое жизнь художника и как жить созвучно со своим призванием. Пересматривая время от времени «Андрея Рублева», я проверяю: нахожусь ли я в согласии со своими творческим и человеческим «я».

Я много смотрел Тарковского и люблю его работы, однако не могу сказать, что я учился на его фильмах.

 

«Пролетая над гнездом кукушки» (1975) Милош Форман

Я преподаю в КНУТКТ им. Карпенко-Карого и своих студентов я просто замучил этой лентой. Впервые я посмотрел ее в 1990-х, когда вопрос свободы в нашем мире только начинал прорываться сквозь эту свинцовую советскую несвободу. Я был школьником и смотрел этот фильм где-то в ночном эфире.

Мне запал в память эпизод, в котором вождь выбивает окно и бежит. В этот момент мне просто физически хотелось кричать. Картина меня просто прорвала. Я очень остро почувствовал, что такое внутренняя свобода. Можно сказать, что именно этот фильм сделал меня тем, кем я есть. Он повлиял на моё внутреннее ество.

 

«Кислородный голод» (1991) Андрей Дончик

Эта лента меня в свое время отрезвила и показала, что кино может быть другим. В то время – начало 1990-х – она воспринималась, как антикино. «Кислородный голод» построен на дисгармоничных, поломанных, разодранных образах. Отдельные кадры из него я помню до мельчайших деталей.

Например, для музыки одинаково важны и эвфония, и какофония. И если все перечисленные мною до этого фильмы – эвфоничны, то лента Дончика – какофонична. Здесь очень эффектно показывается, как ломать гармонию.

 

«Сияние» (1980) Стэнли Кубрик

Это кино, которое работает напрямую с чувствами зрителя, минуя разум. Лента очень исчерпывающе объясняет, что такое эмоция. Это не столько ужастик, сколько фильм состояния. Он научил меня, как погружать и удерживать зрителя в определенном состоянии до финальных титров.

 

«Гарем» (1985) Артюр Жоффе

Очень странный фильм, который напоминает сон. Во время просмотра создается впечатление, что просто вываливаешься из реальности. Там нет гармоничной структуры повествования в привычном понимании этого слова.

Эта лента – как фрагмент видения. Он научил меня тому, что в кино мы не обязаны вести рассказ логично. Наоборот – мы можем рвать рассказ и составлять сюжет из незавершенных частей, работающих как пунктир. В таком случае создатель фильма становится скорее провокатором, чем рассказчиком.

 

«Поля смерти» (1984) Роланд Жоффе

Искусство, конечно, должно рассказывать об общечеловеческих вещах. Однако говорить оно должно актуальным языком и сосуществовать со своим зрителем в одной реальности, не отрываясь в некий условный мир. Именно этот фильм научил меня тому, что такое актуальное искусство. Насколько важна злободневность темы в кино. И насколько важно не сделать ее спекулятивной. Именно этот баланс актуальности и неспекулятивности – то, чего я пытаюсь достичь, создавая собственное кино.